Skip to content
Salford Counts — Salford, in numbers.Local help →

Salford · England

People and living standards

Salford council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Salford

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Salford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 230,821 in 1991 to 297,004 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Salford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 225,590 people in 1996; 297,004 people in 2025. 31.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Salford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991230,821
1992229,874
1993228,988
1994227,620
1995227,204
1996225,590
1997223,906
1998221,640
1999220,018
2000218,689
2001216,978
2002216,310
2003217,312
2004217,921
2005219,536
2006221,931
2007223,468
2008226,782
2009228,948
2010231,837
2011234,487
2012237,421
2013239,718
2014242,602
2015246,942
2016251,562
2017255,090
2018259,224
2019263,611
2020266,090
2021270,866
2022279,964
2023286,990
2024293,508
2025297,004
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Salford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,865 people in 1996; 55,725 people in 2025. 16.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Salford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,920
199247,486
199348,085
199448,314
199548,322
199647,865
199747,507
199846,966
199946,150
200045,233
200143,966
200242,779
200342,423
200442,114
200542,038
200642,281
200742,449
200843,088
200943,682
201044,423
201145,211
201245,989
201346,694
201447,484
201548,482
201649,662
201750,440
201851,408
201952,085
202052,624
202153,011
202254,249
202354,954
202455,839
202555,725
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Salford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 141,083 people in 1996; 203,831 people in 2025. 44.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Salford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,413
1992144,244
1993143,189
1994142,007
1995141,985
1996141,083
1997140,165
1998138,699
1999138,362
2000138,241
2001137,914
2002138,876
2003140,630
2004141,944
2005143,834
2006146,236
2007147,746
2008150,433
2009152,157
2010154,214
2011155,955
2012157,152
2013158,206
2014159,956
2015162,932
2016166,122
2017168,802
2018171,908
2019175,404
2020177,509
2021181,815
2022189,378
2023195,433
2024200,584
2025203,831
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Salford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 36,642 people in 1996; 37,448 people in 2025. 2.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Salford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199138,488
199238,144
199337,714
199437,299
199536,897
199636,642
199736,234
199835,975
199935,506
200035,215
200135,098
200234,655
200334,259
200433,863
200533,664
200633,414
200733,273
200833,261
200933,109
201033,200
201133,321
201234,280
201334,818
201435,162
201535,528
201635,778
201735,848
201835,908
201936,122
202035,957
202136,040
202236,337
202336,603
202437,085
202537,448
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 269,922 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Salford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,9385.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African16,4736.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,5013.1%
White222,24882.3%
Other ethnic group7,7622.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 233,933 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Salford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White210,86290.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,6162%
Asian/Asian British9,4294%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6,5412.8%
Other ethnic group2,4851.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 216,103 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Salford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White207,74696.1%
Mixed2,1461%
Asian/Asian British2,9891.4%
Black/Black British1,2600.6%
Chinese/Other1,9620.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Salford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,516 per person in 1997; £22,434 per person in 2024. 113.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Salford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,516
199810,725
199911,251
200011,727
200111,977
200212,221
200312,626
200413,182
200513,596
200613,922
200714,423
200814,630
200914,831
201014,739
201114,818
201215,199
201315,498
201415,683
201516,682
201616,564
201716,934
201816,774
201917,379
202017,662
202118,573
202219,540
202321,115
202422,434
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Salford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -0.9% in 1997; -13.6% in 2024. 12.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Salford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-0.9
1998-0.9
1999-0.5
2000-1.5
2001-3.2
2002-3.4
2003-3.1
2004-2.9
2005-3.3
2006-4.9
2007-6
2008-7.1
2009-7.4
2010-8.7
2011-9.1
2012-10
2013-11.5
2014-13.3
2015-12.3
2016-14
2017-14
2018-17.8
2019-17.5
2020-15.9
2021-15
2022-14.9
2023-13.6
2024-13.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

21.3%

21 March 2021 · Salford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Salford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Salford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£229,000

July 2026 · Salford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,170

August 2026 · Salford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.